Tennessee is a hotbed of traffic law disputes, and it is no secret that some motorists are reluctant to take a chance on a ticket.
If you are facing a ticket for a speeding ticket in Tennessee, the first thing you need to do is make sure you are legally allowed to drive.
If not, you may be required to pay a fine, as well as jail time.
If your ticket was issued because you were speeding, you are entitled to a lawyer who will handle your case.
The Tennessee Traffic Law Center is a non-profit organization that provides legal representation for drivers who are ticketed for speeding.
You may be able to get help from a traffic lawyer, but you need a lawyer licensed to practice law in Tennessee.
If a ticket was based on the speed limit, the person should be required by law to pay the maximum fine for the vehicle.
If the speed in question was less than 60 mph, then the person was allowed to keep their ticket.
In Tennessee, speeding is punishable by up to a $250 fine, with up to 3 points on your license for each offense.
The law also requires drivers to keep a record of the violations and to notify the court of the date and time of each violation.
If no one has notified the court, the court will consider the violation and order a $50 fine.
If, on the other hand, no one in the car reported the violation, the ticket will be dismissed.
In addition, the traffic law center will recommend which laws to enforce, which traffic signs and road markings to remove and other traffic laws.
You can contact the traffic division of the traffic court by phone, email or in person.